December 27 – 31, 2017



Inspired by the true story of Chicago’s 1903 Iroquois Theatre Fire, BURNING BLUEBEARD is the story of six singed clown performers who emerge from the burnt remains of history attempting to perform their spectacular Christmas Pantomime once and for all. But this time, they hope to finally reach the true happy ending of their second act and avoid the fateful fire that killed 600 of its audience members. Burning Bluebeard is a whimsical romp with a sensitive heart, a joyful eulogy with a sharp irreverent wit including music, clowning, tumbling, acrobatics and dance. Each performance is a vaudevillian delight with a story that excavates the poetic and poignant remains of a piece of Chicago’s rich history.

Regular performances are December 28-31, with a pay-what-you-can* preview on Wednesday the 27th.

*Pay-what-you-can tickets available cash only on day of preview (12/27), on a first-come first-serve basis. To reserve ahead of time and guarantee your seat, you can pay online at standard price. Thanks!

The run of Burning Bluebeard will include two performances on the 114th anniversary of the actual Iroquois Theatre fire, Saturday, December 30. And on New Year’s Eve, an optional New Year’s Eve VIP Package is available, which includes performances of BURNING BLUEBEARD (7:30 pm) and THE INFINITE WRENCH (11 pm), with dinner and drinks in between and a midnight toast to conclude the evening. To purchase those VIP tickets, simply follow the links to buy tickets on 12/31, or call the Neo-Futurists office at 773-878-4557.

The Neo-Futurists and The Ruffians partner to bring BURNING BLUEBEARD back to the Neo-Futuarium stage, which premiered here in 2011. Written by Neo-Alum and Ruffian Founder Jay Torrence and directed by Neo-Artistic Associate Halena Kays, BURNING BLUEBEARD reunites the full cast from the past three Ruffian seasons: Pam Chermansky, Anthony Courser†, Molly Plunk†, Jay Torrence*, Leah Urzendowski* and Ryan Walters*.

*designates Neo-Futurist Ensemble Member
†designates Neo-Futurist Artistic Associate




Artistic Team


Pamela Chermansky

Fancy Clown

Molly Plunk

The Fairy Queen

Anthony Courser


Halena Kays


Leah Urzendowski

The Aerialist

Ryan Walters

Eddie Foy

Jay Torrence

Writer, Bob Murray